One day after a number of MPs tried and failed to summon the minister of transportation to Parliament for questioning, another motion has been initiated to summon him.

Bijan Zanganeh

Bijan Zanganeh

A member of Parliament’s energy commission told the Mehr News Agency on Wednesday October 7 that a motion has been signed by 40 MPs to summon the oil minister.

Yesterday, the motion to impeach Transportation Minister Abbas Akhoondi was defeated by a vote of 175-72 after the minister offered explanations.

A separate motion to impeach the oil minister, according to Shorkhoda Mousavi, is based on “inactivity at the Southern Pars project, problems with oil projects, the oil ministry’s engagement with suspects accused of corruption, and handing over oil rigs to Chinese and Indian companies”.

Many oil projects were handed over to companies linked to the Revolutionary Guards (IRGC) in the former administration. The Rohani administration has instead involved foreign companies in these projects, which has triggered serious criticism from the IRGC.

The oil minister has not commented on the motion.