Following a report by the Tasnim News Agency, the Mehr News Agency has also reported that the Guardian Council has approved eight applicants for the presidential race.

The report lists the names as Gholamali Haddad Adel, Saeed Jalili, Mohsen Rezai, Hassan Rohani, Mohammadreza Aref, Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, Mohammad Gharazi and Ali Akbar Velayati.

Consequently, it seems that top reformist candidate Ayatollah Hashemi Rafsanjani and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s preferred candidate, Esfandiar Rahim Mashai, have been disqualified by the Guardian Council.

National Elections head Solat Mortazavi announced, however, that the Guardian Council will officially announce the list of approved candidates in the 11th presidential race tomorrow, Wednesday May 22.