Norooz, one of the world’s most ancient New Year celebrations, is still observed today in various regions including Iran, the Caucasus and Central Asia, marking the New Year on the first day of spring.

In Iran and Afghanistan, it is considered the start of the official calendar year, which entails several days of holidays and official festivities. In India, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Iraqi Kurdistan, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan, it is celebrated as an official holiday.

On February 24, 2010, the United Nations recognized the International Day of Norooz as a Persian spring festival celebrated for more than 3,000 years.

This year, the Iranian New Year arrives in different parts of the world as follows:

Iran: 08:44:27 local time on Tuesday March 20;

Western United States and Canada: 22:14:27 local time on Monday March 19;

Eastern United States and Canada: 01:14:27 local time on Tuesday March 20;

Western Europe: 06:14:27 local time on Tuesday March 20;

Britain: 05:14:27 local time on Tuesday March 20;

Australia: 16:14:27 local Sydney time on Tuesday March 20;

Malaysia: 13:14:27 local time on Tuesday March 20.

Iranian media report that according to new legislation regarding time changes, at midnight on Tuesday, the first day of Farvardin (March 20), clocks will be officially adjusted one hour ahead.

The clocks will revert back one hour at midnight on the 30th of Shahrivar (September 20).