Iran’s national Greco-Roman Wrestling team has defeated Russia to become world champions for the fourth time in the past five years.

The championships were held in Tehran, with Iran defeating Russia in the finals 6 to 2.

Hamid Sourian at 59 kg, Omid Norouzi at 66 kg, Saeed Abdoli at at 80 kg, Taleb Nematpour at 85 kg, Mehdi Aliyari at 98 kg and Bashir Babajanzadeh at 130 kg all defeated their Russian counterparts.

Iran defeated Armenia 5 to 3 in the semi-finals, after emerging victorious over Azerbaijan, South Korea and Finland.
Azerbaijan took third place by defeating Hungary.

Iran’s wrestlers won the World Cup of Greco-Roman Wrestling outside of Iran in 2010, 2011 and 2012. Last year they lost to Russia.